e n

Ravish Kumar wins the inaugural Kuldip Nayar Journalism Award

Kuldip Nayar has joined hands with the Gandhi Peace Foundation to institute a prestigious award for journalists. NDTV’s Ravish Kumar has been chosen for the award this year

The first Kuldip Nayar Journalism Award will be given to NDTV’s Ravish Kumar. The award ceremony will be held in New Delhi’s India International Centre on 19 March 2017. Kuldip Nayar and the Gandhi Peace Foundation have jointly instituted the award.

The management committee of the award programme comprised Kuldip Nayar; Kumar Prashant, chairman of Gandhi Peace Foundation; political scientist Ashish Nandy; Om Thanvi, former editor of Jansatta; senior journalist Neerja Chaudhary; Sanjay Pathak; Rizvan Kausar; Ashok Kumar; Jaishankar Gupta; Vijay Pratap; and Pramod Ranjan, managing editor of FORWARD Press.

Ashok Kumar, secretary of the committee, and of the Gandhi Peace Foundation said that the award would be given every year to a journalist of Indian languages who uses journalism to promote independent thinking, democratic values and civic rights. The award carries a cash component of Rs 1 lakh. Nayar has provided the seed money for the award. The veteran journalist said that this award was special because it would be given to journalists by journalists. In that sense, it is a new and unique award. Nayar is one of the pillars of Indian journalism. He had taken the initiative for instituting this award and for linking up with the Gandhi Peace Foundation in this endeavour. The award came to fruition with the co-operation of many journalist and writer friends. Nayar said that Indian-language journalists working in any format of the media would be considered for the award.

Forward Press also publishes books on Bahujan issues. Forward Press Books sheds light on the widespread problems as well as the finer aspects of the Bahujan (Dalit, OBC, Adivasi, Nomadic, Pasmanda) community’s literature, culture, society and culture. Contact us for a list of FP Books’ titles and to order. Mobile: +919968527911, Email: info@forwardmagazine.in)

About The Author

FP Desk

Related Articles

Hathras stampede: Caste and politics of a tragedy
Surajpal Singh alias Narayan Sakar Hari alias Bhole Baba is a Jatav by caste. Most of his devotees are either Jatavs or come from...
NEET designed to churn out doctors only from the upper class and castes and city dwellers
This year, 73 per cent of the successful candidates came from CBSE/NCERT curriculum while only 27 per cent were from schools with state board...
With the Constitution secured, there is much to thank V.P. Singh for
The Mandal reservation, which V.P. Singh ushered in, became the main protector of the Indian Constitution in the face of a threat from the...
Why RSS is scapegoating Modi for failing to win a majority
The 2024 General Elections were important for Modi. But these elections were even more important for the RSS. It wanted to win the elections...
The intellectual bankruptcy of an upper-caste academia
The reason India has failed to produce quality research and transformative theories is that the upper-caste intellectuals tend to crush any idea that could...